Welcome

 

Welcome to Bristol Quilters’ website.  We are one of the largest quilt groups in the South West (Gloucestershire, Bristol, Somerset) area with 130 members.  We range from beginners to international teachers and exhibitors and we were founded in 1980 when we started meeting in the Friends’ Meeting House in Hampton Road, Bristol.

We have several  members who have been part of the group since the beginning and others who have left for various reasons and then re-joined.  Jan Hassard became the first Chair of an elected committee in 1990 and at our monthly meetings we continue to introduce members to new ideas and inspiring speakers from the UK and abroad.

We are committed to regularly raise money for local causes.  For several years we have made baby quilts for both Southmead and St Michael’s premature units, we have a fundraising table for St Peter’s Hospice at every meeting and we also raise money for a different local charity at every Quiltfest (held every three years).

Our programme for 2019 is as follows:

Wednesday 9 January Jenny Rayment talk – Trials and tribulations of a Travelling ‘Nipper and Tucker’
Wednesday 6 February Anne Griffiths talk – Stories in Stitch
Wednesday 6 March Linda Seward  Workshop – How to make a fiddle quilt
Wednesday 6 March Linda Seward talk – Ultimate Quilt Artists
Wednesday 3 April  Workshop -Set the town alight
Wednesday 3 April Anne Hellyer talk – “How did I get here?”
Wednesday 1 May Janet Twinn talk – From Canvas to Calico
Wednesday 5 June Wednesday 4th Catherine Lawes  Workshop – Layered Landscapes
Wednesday 5 June Catherine Lawes talk – From Here to There and Back Again
Wednesday 3 July Sallieanne Harrison talk – My Quilting Journey
Wednesday 31 July Social Meeting – members only
Wednesday 4 September Judith Dursley talk – Miniatures
Wednesday 2 October AGM + How to photograph Quilts -Dominic Hewitt – members only
Wednesday 6 November Sara Impey talk – Writing with a needle
Wednesday 4 December Christmas Meeting with American Supper – members only